A Station for Everyone
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Siouxland Public Media Wins 10 Eric Sevareid Awards


Siouxland Public Media won 10 Eric Sevareid Awards during an award ceremony at the Graduate Hotel in Minneapolis on Saturday, April 2, 2022. The awards honor the best work done by students and professional journalists in a six-state region: Iowa, South Dakota, North Dakota, Nebraska, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. They are named for Eric Sevareid, the North Dakota-born and University of Minnesota-educated journalist best known for his work as a CBS Radio and Television correspondent.

Screen Shot 2022-04-04 at 11.35.43 AM.png
Siouxland Public Media/Sheila Brummer
SPM 2022 Midwest Journalism Awards

Siouxland Public Media’s news team won five First Place awards and one Award of Merit for Best Newscast.

Documentary/Special: Exploring Teenage Sexuality

General Reporting: No Mask Mandate for Sioux City Schools

Writing: MEANINGFUL MURAL: Young Members of the Omaha Tribe Connect With Culture

Soft Feature: MEANINGFUL MURAL: Young Members of the Omaha Tribe Connect With Culture

Talk/Public Affairs: Zitkala-Sa: Native Journalist Who Uncovered Murder, Graft, and Exploitation

Siouxland Public Media Intern Kayla Mayer won four awards for her story Feeding Siouxland: Local Food Pantries Meet Increased Need. She picked up First Place honors for Audio and Writing and Awards of Merits for Hard Feature and General Reporting.

Screen Shot 2022-04-04 at 11.35.28 AM.png
Siouxland Public Media/Sheila Brummer
Siouxland Public Media's Kayla Mayer

Sheila Brummer returns to her radio roots as a Reporter/Special Projects Producer for Siouxland Public Media KWIT-KOJI.
Related Content