Check It Out

Tuesdays at 7:42 a.m. and 5:18 p.m.

Check It Out is a weekly spotlight on literature and book culture that Siouxland Public Media co-produces with the Sioux City Public Library

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

This is Jenn Delperdang with the Sioux City Public Library, and you’re listening to Check It Out.

I love it when a book surprises me—when the story is not at all what I expected, but the writing and storytelling is so good that it draws me in.  Today I am recommending The Reckless Oath We Made by Bryn Greenwood--a novel that caught me completely by surprise—and I couldn’t put it down.  

This is Sarah Enright, with the Sioux City Public Library, and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I am recommending We Are the Luckiest by Laura McKowen.

This is Barb Gross with the Sioux City Public Library, and you’re listening to “Check it Out.” As a new year’s resolution – which now seems like a lifetime ago – a friend and I began a quest to read two books each month written by African American authors. By reading more diversely, we hope to increase our empathy for the experiences of black people in America. Little did we know how important this reading would be now. 

Check It Out: Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink

Aug 24, 2020

This is Jennifer Havlik with the Sioux City Public Library, and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

Today I’m recommending Five Days at Memorial by Sheri Fink. This gripping and well-researched account of Memorial Hospital in New Orleans in the days immediately before and after Hurricane Katrina is told from Fink’s Pulitzer Prize winning investigative journalism.

    

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m back to recommend another contemporary romance, The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai. This sizzling new novel tackles all the hilarity, pitfalls, successes, and vulnerability required in modern dating. 

Rhiannon Hunter may have revolutionized romance in the digital world with the creation of her dating app Crush, but in real life she only swipes right on her career—and the occasional hookup. The cynical CEO controls her love life with a few key rules:

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

Today I would like to recommend the newest novel by National Book Award-winning author Louise Erdrich, The Night Watchman. 

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Library, and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

There are many psychological thrillers out there to wade through, so when one comes around that shines a little brighter than the rest, you take note. This is how I felt when I finished reading The Wives by Tarryn Fisher. Honestly, when I closed the book after the last page, the first thing out of my mouth was “geeeez!”

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library, and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Dead Papa Toothwort is an ancient tree demon made entirely of ivy and cares little for humanity. He is not just part of nature, he is nature, personified. He has seen monks executed on this land, seen witches drowned, seen industrial slaughter of animals, and has seen men beat each other senseless. He cares not. So, when the words of a single boy can rouse him from his stupefied slumber, you know there is something special about this child. 

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

The mystery that surrounds Anastasia Romanov is something that has captured the western world for a century now. Was she the sole survivor of the Bolshevik uprising in Russia, or did she perish with the rest of her royal family? This is what author Ariel Lawhon tackles in her very compelling 2018 novel, I Was Anastasia.

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

Throughout American history there have been quite a few legendary figures, but very few could live up the phrase, “The Man, The Myth, The Legend” as well as one James Butler Hickok, better known as “Wild Bill”.  

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m recommending The Farmer’s Son: Calving Season on a Family Farm by John Connell. A #1 Irish bestseller, this poignant memoir is perfect for fans of James Herriot, Ted Genoways, or really any reader interested in farming and rural life.

Farming has been in John Connell’s family for generations, but he never intended to follow in his father’s footsteps. Until, one winter, after more than a decade away, he finds himself back on the farm. 

  

  This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

Today, I’m recommending The Water Keeper, the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Charles Martin. Continuing on his success from Send Down the Rain and The Mountain Between Us, The Water Keeper is Martin’s first story in a new series.

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you are listening to Check It Out.

Today I would like to recommend the works of modern thriller author, Riley Sager.

This Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

I want to be up front about this title. This recommendation is on a romance novel. A romance novel that is very steamy at times. So, it’s not for everybody, but it’s not the steam that makes me want to recommend it, it’s the lovely characters and their individual journeys. 

Today I would like to share the little romantic gem, Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert.

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Today I would like to take a moment to suggest the creepy and unsettling page turner, The Chestnut Man by the internationally acclaimed Danish screenwriter turned novelist Soren Sveistrup.

Check It Out: This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger

May 11, 2020

        This is Jennifer Havlik, with the Sioux City Public Library, and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

Today I’m recommending This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger. This novel takes place during the Great Depression, and while it is a work of historical fiction, the author’s extensive research and vivid description creates authenticity in events and setting. 

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.  And today I would like to talk to you about the sweet, subtle, supernatural love story, How to Stop Time by Matt Haig.     

Tom Hazard has a few rules that he lives by, but none more important than: Don’t fall in love. You see, he may look like an ordinary 41-year-old but he’s actually centuries old. He’s one of very few humans throughout time with a rare condition that makes him age much slower than a typical man.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m recommending Beth O’Leary’s debut novel, The Flatshare.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m recommending Rough Magic: Riding the World’s Loneliest Horse Race by Lara Prior-Palmer.   

This is Jenn Delperdang with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Today, I’m recommending Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson-- a funny and offbeat novel about “family”.  If you’ve read either of Kevin Wilson’s previous novels (The Family Fang or Perfect Little World) you might know to expect this author to craft an everyday family drama and then introduce one strange element to make us see the story in a completely different way. 

This is Billie Voss, with the Sioux City Public Library, and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

This is Jenn Delperdang, with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Check It Out: Charlotte's Web by E.B. White

Jan 27, 2020

Charlotte’s Web

This is Preston and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Have you ever had to move a long distance, far away from the place you grew up in? Saying bye to the friends you’re used to and having to accomplish the somewhat difficult task in making new ones?  Well, in this week’s book for Check It Out, we are introduced to the unique friendship that is developed between a spider and a pig that is new to the farm in E.B. White’s classic novel, Charlotte’s Web.

I’m Mark Munger and you are listening to Check it Out.

A ship set in ice. An axe. A giant disappearing into arctic waters. Such are the uncommon beginnings to an uncommon Western. In the Distance by Hernan Diaz approaches one of the great American genres with a cold but intense embrace.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Lately, I’ve been really drawn to reading wintery works of crime fiction and wanted to share with you, two of my favorites. Today, I’m recommending The Hunting Game by Helene Tursten and The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley. Apparently, I’m also a fan of books with the word “hunting” in the title, but I won’t even try to analyze what that says about me or my reading habits.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Check It Out: Sadie by Courtney Summers

Dec 10, 2019

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers. 

Pages