Check It Out

Tuesdays at 7:42 a.m. and 5:18 p.m.

Check It Out is a weekly spotlight on literature and book culture that Siouxland Public Media co-produces with the Sioux City Public Library

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m recommending The Farmer’s Son: Calving Season on a Family Farm by John Connell. A #1 Irish bestseller, this poignant memoir is perfect for fans of James Herriot, Ted Genoways, or really any reader interested in farming and rural life.

Farming has been in John Connell’s family for generations, but he never intended to follow in his father’s footsteps. Until, one winter, after more than a decade away, he finds himself back on the farm. 

  

  This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

Today, I’m recommending The Water Keeper, the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Charles Martin. Continuing on his success from Send Down the Rain and The Mountain Between Us, The Water Keeper is Martin’s first story in a new series.

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you are listening to Check It Out.

Today I would like to recommend the works of modern thriller author, Riley Sager.

This Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

I want to be up front about this title. This recommendation is on a romance novel. A romance novel that is very steamy at times. So, it’s not for everybody, but it’s not the steam that makes me want to recommend it, it’s the lovely characters and their individual journeys. 

Today I would like to share the little romantic gem, Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert.

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Today I would like to take a moment to suggest the creepy and unsettling page turner, The Chestnut Man by the internationally acclaimed Danish screenwriter turned novelist Soren Sveistrup.

Check It Out: This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger

May 11, 2020

        This is Jennifer Havlik, with the Sioux City Public Library, and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

Today I’m recommending This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger. This novel takes place during the Great Depression, and while it is a work of historical fiction, the author’s extensive research and vivid description creates authenticity in events and setting. 

This is Jessi Wakefield with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.  And today I would like to talk to you about the sweet, subtle, supernatural love story, How to Stop Time by Matt Haig.     

Tom Hazard has a few rules that he lives by, but none more important than: Don’t fall in love. You see, he may look like an ordinary 41-year-old but he’s actually centuries old. He’s one of very few humans throughout time with a rare condition that makes him age much slower than a typical man.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m recommending Beth O’Leary’s debut novel, The Flatshare.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m recommending Rough Magic: Riding the World’s Loneliest Horse Race by Lara Prior-Palmer.   

This is Jenn Delperdang with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Today, I’m recommending Nothing to See Here by Kevin Wilson-- a funny and offbeat novel about “family”.  If you’ve read either of Kevin Wilson’s previous novels (The Family Fang or Perfect Little World) you might know to expect this author to craft an everyday family drama and then introduce one strange element to make us see the story in a completely different way. 

This is Billie Voss, with the Sioux City Public Library, and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

This is Jenn Delperdang, with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Check It Out: Charlotte's Web by E.B. White

Jan 27, 2020

Charlotte’s Web

This is Preston and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Have you ever had to move a long distance, far away from the place you grew up in? Saying bye to the friends you’re used to and having to accomplish the somewhat difficult task in making new ones?  Well, in this week’s book for Check It Out, we are introduced to the unique friendship that is developed between a spider and a pig that is new to the farm in E.B. White’s classic novel, Charlotte’s Web.

I’m Mark Munger and you are listening to Check it Out.

A ship set in ice. An axe. A giant disappearing into arctic waters. Such are the uncommon beginnings to an uncommon Western. In the Distance by Hernan Diaz approaches one of the great American genres with a cold but intense embrace.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Lately, I’ve been really drawn to reading wintery works of crime fiction and wanted to share with you, two of my favorites. Today, I’m recommending The Hunting Game by Helene Tursten and The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley. Apparently, I’m also a fan of books with the word “hunting” in the title, but I won’t even try to analyze what that says about me or my reading habits.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

Check It Out: Sadie by Courtney Summers

Dec 10, 2019

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers. 

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

Check It Out: Where The Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Nov 12, 2019

This is Sarah Enright with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. When a book begins to draw attention and quickly moves up on best-seller lists, I usually tend to steer clear. Many times hype has created expectations that have left me disappointed.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Probably best known for his No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series (which is one of my personal favorites), Alexander McCall Smith dives into a new mystery series set in Sweden in The Department of Sensitive Crimes. Dubbed “Scandi-Lite” by his publisher, this book doesn’t have the bleakness of Scandinavian noir, but it isn’t quite a cozy mystery either.

In this story the Mayan god of death sends a young woman on a harrowing, life-changing journey in this dark, one-of-a-kind fairy tale inspired by Mexican folklore.

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

Fantasy books may hold legends of heroes comprised of many tales. Some tall, some not. For some storytellers love to enhance details to make it more awe-inspiring. Or simply, details are lost through the passing of each generation. Such is true for this book which holds the tales of many such as Taborlin the Great, recognized for knowing “the name of the wind” which allowed him to call on it and bend to his will; The Fae, who live in a different realm and govern supernatural powers. Then there is the story of Kvothe, the protagonist of this book.

One sister risks it all to prove that her sister is not insane by sneaking into the infamous Goldengrove Asylum. But she realizes that many of the women in the asylum aren't acutally insane but are merely inconvenient.  As her search for the truth continues, it threatens to unearth some secrets that some very powerful people would rather keep hidden. 

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers. 

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

Pages