Kelsey Patterson

    

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m back to recommend another contemporary romance, The Right Swipe by Alisha Rai. This sizzling new novel tackles all the hilarity, pitfalls, successes, and vulnerability required in modern dating. 

Rhiannon Hunter may have revolutionized romance in the digital world with the creation of her dating app Crush, but in real life she only swipes right on her career—and the occasional hookup. The cynical CEO controls her love life with a few key rules:

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m recommending The Farmer’s Son: Calving Season on a Family Farm by John Connell. A #1 Irish bestseller, this poignant memoir is perfect for fans of James Herriot, Ted Genoways, or really any reader interested in farming and rural life.

Farming has been in John Connell’s family for generations, but he never intended to follow in his father’s footsteps. Until, one winter, after more than a decade away, he finds himself back on the farm. 

Are you craving ‘feel-good’ stories? Do you want characters to cheer for?  Leave the bleak headlines behind as Kelsey and Jenn shine a light on likeable characters in fiction in this episode of The First Fifty Pages.

The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen

The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg

Isabel Dalhousie mysteries by Alexander McCall Smith

One Day by David Nicholls

  

  This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

Today, I’m recommending The Water Keeper, the latest novel from New York Times bestselling author Charles Martin. Continuing on his success from Send Down the Rain and The Mountain Between Us, The Water Keeper is Martin’s first story in a new series.

Reading for enjoyment can be difficult when you're feeling anxious.  In this episode, Kelsey and Jenn discuss their go-to 'comfort' reads.  They also share ideas for reading when you're feeling anxious and favorite literary escapes for your #stayathome. 

Looking for something good to read? On this episode of The First Fifty Pages, Kelsey and Jenn share some of their favorite nonfiction books, as reviewed by Sioux City Public Library staff in clips from the Check It Out series.  Your To-Be-Read list is about to get longer... 

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m recommending Beth O’Leary’s debut novel, The Flatshare.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m recommending Rough Magic: Riding the World’s Loneliest Horse Race by Lara Prior-Palmer.   

Do you have a “Reading Resolution” for the New Year? In this episode of The First Fifty Pages, Jenn and Kelsey discuss realistic ways to help you reach your reading goals, and they might even persuade you to join a book club.  (Spoiler alert: You’re likely to live longer if you do!)

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Lately, I’ve been really drawn to reading wintery works of crime fiction and wanted to share with you, two of my favorites. Today, I’m recommending The Hunting Game by Helene Tursten and The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley. Apparently, I’m also a fan of books with the word “hunting” in the title, but I won’t even try to analyze what that says about me or my reading habits.

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

How have we evolved as readers? Whch trends picked up steam? What were the most sought out books in the last ten years? Jenn and Kelsey reflect back on the last decade to address these questions.

What is the true cost of eBooks and audiobooks for libraries? What is Bridges? How does the Macmillan embargo affect libraries? In this installment of The First Fifty Pages, Jenn & Kelsey invite Becky Heil, District Consultant from the State Library of Iowa, to help address these questions and further discuss Libby.

In part one of the Libby series, Jenn and Kelsey dive into the app, which lets users borrow eBooks and audiobooks from their local library. Special guest Alex Watters, City Councilmember of Sioux City, helps Jenn and Kelsey discuss why audiobooks are so popular right now, whether listening is the same as reading and Libby hacks. 

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Probably best known for his No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series (which is one of my personal favorites), Alexander McCall Smith dives into a new mystery series set in Sweden in The Department of Sensitive Crimes. Dubbed “Scandi-Lite” by his publisher, this book doesn’t have the bleakness of Scandinavian noir, but it isn’t quite a cozy mystery either.

How does one find the perfect scary story? Is there a one-size-fits-all when it comes to the horror genre? What is your monster? Special guest Gregg Winsor, Reference Librarian and Reader's Advisory Specialist at the Johnson County Library in Kansas, helps Jenn and Kelsey address these questions.

Viewers Advisory

Oct 24, 2019

On this episode, Jenn & Kelsey discuss the vast collection of DVDs the library offers along with special guest Sara Leiss, Operations Manager at the Sioux City Public Library. Sara helps dissect appeal factors, viewing styles and the book to movie connections.

In this story the Mayan god of death sends a young woman on a harrowing, life-changing journey in this dark, one-of-a-kind fairy tale inspired by Mexican folklore.

Banned Books Week, what is it, and when does it happen? Why is it important for a community to celebrate Banned Books Week? What is the difference between a challenge or banning? Jenn & Kelsey address these questions and more with the help of special guest Zach Freking-Smith, Director of the Cherokee Public Library.

In honor of September being Library Card Sign-up MonthJenn & Kelsey reflect on the impact library cards has had throughout their lives. As well as the many benefits a library card can grant a user. 

One sister risks it all to prove that her sister is not insane by sneaking into the infamous Goldengrove Asylum. But she realizes that many of the women in the asylum aren't acutally insane but are merely inconvenient.  As her search for the truth continues, it threatens to unearth some secrets that some very powerful people would rather keep hidden. 

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers. 

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers.

In the fourth episode of The First Fifty Pages, Jenn & Kelsey discuss vacation and beach reads. What fits the bill for a beach read? And, what sort of books are Jenn & Kelsey taking on their vacations?

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. Today, I’m changing things up a little and recommending you check out one of my new favorite rom-com writers, Jasmine Guillory. A Bay Area native who has towering stacks of books in her living room, a cake recipe for every occasion, and upwards of 50 lipsticks, Guillory is an author after my own heart. As a debut author, she hit the ground running by publishing not one, but two books in 2018—The Wedding Date and The Proposal, respectively.

In the third episode of The First Fifty Pages, Jenn & Kelsey, along with special guest Jessi Wakefield, discuss the different types of readers, how they developed their relationship to reading, and a few of their personal favorite books.

In the second episode of The First Fifty Pages, Jenn & Kelsey talk about blind dates with books. Why should one go on a blind date with a book? What makes librarians great match makers? How does one connect to the right appeal elements of books? Jenn & Kelsey address these questions and more.

Support for Check It Out comes from Avery Brothers. 

CIO: Red Queen

Jan 25, 2019

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out.

During these dreary months of winter after the hustle and bustle of the holiday season has died down, I love to curl up on the couch and dive into stories that take me to other worlds. There’s just something about reading something fantastical book that makes the chill of winter just a little bit more bearable.  

Today, I’m recommending Red Queen, the first book in the New York Times bestselling series of the same name by Victoria Aveyard.

Pages