A Station for Everyone
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Siouxland Public Media Wins 3 National Public Media Awards


The Public Media Journalism Association honored Siouxland Public Media with three national awards during an annual banquet on June 23, 2023, in San Antonio, Texas. Each year, the organization recognizes the best in local public radio news.

Siouxland Public Media won First Place for Long Documentary for an edition of the public affairs program, The Exchange, that increased awareness of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women. A series of reports on the same subject picked up Second Place for Continuing Coverage. Small Wonder’s Jim Schaap won Second Place for Commentary with the essay “What I Learned from Alice.”

Siouxland Public Media is a small NPR affiliate station run independently from a state network. The staff consists of four full-time employees, including two journalists who also serve as on-air hosts. This year the station is in contention for four national Edward R. Murrow Awards, including Overall Excellence. Winners will be announced sometime this summer.

Related Content