A Station for Everyone
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Newscast 11.09.22: All Iowa House seats now held by the GOP; Tom Miller to end service after 40 years as IA Attorney General

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 4.31.55 PM.png
Iowa Attorney General Tom Miller

Republican Zach Nunn has won election to U.S. House in Iowa's 3rd Congressional District, beating incumbent Rep. Cindy Axne.

All of the counties are reporting results in the race for Iowa's 3rd Congressional District, according to Secretary of State Paul Pate.

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 4.26.24 PM.png
Republican Third District Iowa Congressman Zach Nunn

Those results show Republican Zach Nunn with 50.26 percent and Democrat Cindy Axne 49.57 percent of the votes.

For the first time in 40 years, there won’t be a Democrat heading Iowa’s Attorney General’s office. Attorney General Tom Miller won’t serve the 11th term as the state’s chief legal officer after losing to Republican Brenna Bird in a close race yesterday. The Associated Press called the race for Bird this (Wednesday) afternoon, with unofficial results showing her with a lead of less than 2 percentage points over Miller.

Miller conceded the race last night and told reporters he was thankful for his 40 years as attorney general.

Miller was the nation’s longest-serving attorney general. He was first elected to office in 1978.

Iowa State Auditor Rob Sand led Republican challenger Todd Halbur by a narrow margin Wednesday as a stalled vote count left the race too close to call.

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 4.27.59 PM.png
Iowa State Auditor Rob Sand

With just 0.3% of the vote separating the pair, it was the tightest statewide race and the only one in which a Democrat held a lead.

Sand’s campaign manager said he believed Sand would win.

Two Iowa counties have still not reported all their election results to the secretary of state’s office.

Some of the delayed vote tallies are from six precincts in Warren County, where Indianola is the county seat. In Des Moines County, where Burlington is the county seat, absentee ballot results did not match the number processed. Secretary of State Paul Pate says both county auditors should have emergency meetings with their boards of Supervisors, so the county boards can authorize administrative recounts.

Election officials in Linn County — the second largest county in Iowa — had problems uploading all the spreadsheets of their vote tallies, but by 1 a.m., all Linn County results were publicly reported.

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 2.41.39 PM.png
Kameron Nelson, South Dakota District 10 Winner

The LGBTQ Victory Fund has declared Kameron Nelson is the first openly gay man elected to the South Dakota Legislature. Nelson won the election for South Dakota’s District 10 House race with 25% of the vote alongside Erin Healy, who had 32% of the vote.

Related Content