© 2021 KWIT

4647 Stone Avenue, Sioux City, Iowa 51106

Business: 712-274-6406
Studio: 1-800-251-3690

Email: info@kwit.org
A Station for Everyone
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00
0:00
Available On Air Stations
Featured Programs

Check It Out: Finlay Donovan is Killing It by Elle Cosimano

finlay_donovan_0.jpg

This is Kelsey Patterson with the Sioux City Public Library and you’re listening to Check It Out. 

Goodreads called it “One of the Most Anticipated Mysteries and Thrillers of 2021” and Parade hailed it as “One of The Most Anticipated Books of Winter 2021”. Haven’t got a clue what book I’m talking about? Today, I’m recommending Finlay Donovan is Killing It by Elle Cosimano. Finlay Donovan is a stressed-out single mom of two and a struggling novelist. Finn’s life is in chaos: the new book she promised her literary agent isn’t written, her ex-husband fired the nanny without telling her, and she had to send her four-year-old to school with much of her hair duct taped to her head after an unfortunate incident with some scissors. 

At a lunch meeting with her agent at the local Panera, Finlay is overheard discussing the plot of her newest suspense novel. She’s mistaken for a contract killer and accidentally accepts an offer to dispose of a problem husband in order to make ends meet. Soon, she discovers that crime in real life is a lot more difficult than its fictional counterpart, as she becomes tangled in a real-life murder investigation.  

I was hooked on this book from the very beginning. Cosimano came up with such a fresh and interesting premise for this mystery. I honestly haven’t read or heard of anything like it before. I also couldn’t help but love how much dark humor and wit she was able to infuse into the story. If I had any critique at all, I’d admit it isn’t the most complex mystery plot I’ve ever read, but the terrific writing and well-rounded and almost too-relatable characters more than made up for it. 

This book is perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, The Body Movers series by Stephanie Bond, or Lisa Lutz’s Spellman Files series. 

Check out Finlay Donovan is Killing It or other offbeat mysteries like it at the Sioux City Public Library. 

Support for Check It Out on Siouxland Public Media comes from Avery Brothers.